top of page

"The First" eNewsletter for Regis High School Alumni


Welcome! We hope this quarterly, electronic newsletter will help you stay up to date with what's happening at Regis.

Please send content ideas and alumni updates to swoodley@regishighschool.net​​​​​​​​​

SCHOOL HIGHLIGHTS

Mandy (Ziglinski) Miotke '97

to Teach Biology and Chemistry

Mandy is a St. Mary and Regis graduate. She earned a Biology Education degree from Western Oregon University, a Master’s degree in Curriculum and Instruction from Portland State University, and an ESOL (English as a Second Language) endorsement. Mandy taught science in Mt. Angel, then taught Biology at Regis before staying home full time with her family. She also serves on the Regis Board of Directors.

​​​​​

We are excited to welcome Mandy back to the Regis campus for the 2017-2018 school year to instruct the Sophomores and Juniors in Biology and Chemistry!

Regis Receives E. L. Wiegand Foundation

STEM Grant

We are pleased to announce that Regis has received a grant award of $95,522.36 from the E. L. Wiegand Foundation of Reno, Nevada to fund a STEM classroom and laboratory, as well as new Biology, Chemistry and Earth and Space Science curricula. Room 10 will be converted to the E.L. Wiegand STEM Laboratory this summer, with the addition of Smith System classroom furniture. STEM classrooms must be adaptable, flexible, mobile and ergonomic, which is why we have chosen nest and fold tables and chairs, mobile power towers, rolling storage cubbies, power bar tables with stools and new teacher desks and chairs. Regis will also purchase Pearson Biology, Chemistry and Earth and Space Science curricula, each of which includes a virtual lab component. This Spring, four faculty will attend the Next Generation STEM Standards and Sustainability Conference at the University of Oregon.

"We are so excited to be able to offer to our students excellent, up to date curricula and and an atmosphere conducive to hands-on learning," says principal Rick Schindler. "We couldn't be more grateful to the E. L. Wiegand Foundation." Thank you E. L. Wiegand Foundation, for your support of STEM education at Regis High School!

​ALUMNI PROFILES​

Austin Horn ('10) Accepted to the Rocky Vista University College of Osteopathic Medicine

​​​​​​​Austin Horn ('10) is well on his way to becoming an osteopathic physician with his recent acceptance to the RVU in Ivins, Utah. Austin received his undergraduate degree from the University of Oregon, where he discovered a joy for Biology. He volunteered at PeaceHealth Sacred Heart Medical Center at RiverBend in Springfield and enjoyed spending time in Pediatrics. Austin envisions a future in pediatric medicine in a rural setting, such as his home town of Sublimity. Austin hopes to join the Navy within the next year and is excited to attend a school within close proximity to three National Parks: Zion, Kolob Canyon and Bryce Canyon. As for his time at Regis, Austin says, "The science and math were fantastic! Regis was great." He enjoyed the atmosphere at Regis and is grateful for the confidence he gained in his years here. "Regis does a fantastic job for its size and the limited amount of resources available."​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

Faith in Truth

Finding God's living presence in a complex world by Andy Oldham '87

Standing at the corner of 13th and Kincaid as an 18-year-old freshman at the University of Oregon, I realized I was lost alone, a stranger in a strange land. Nothing in my high school formation had prepared me for this profound sense of displacement. I couldn't understand the signals and signs around me and I felt I was playing a game where everyone but me knew the rules.

So I turned to what I trusted was rue north and went home to visit Father Tim Murphy at Regis Catholic High School in Stayton, Oregon. I had graduated from Regis in June of 1987 ready to take on the world. By October 1987, I was no longer sure of my faith, myself or the world around me. I no longer knew what I believed. Father Murphy took me in and reassured me. He told me that it was a good thing to feel lost. He counseled me that my doubts about faith were not only normal, but they were good and that in my disorientation was an opportunity for God to find me and for me to understand how passionately and intimately I was loved by God.

I shared with him the Regis had not prepared me for such an enormous and confusing world. He smiled and asked me why I had returned to Regis in my moment of need. The answer seemed obvious to me: at Regis, everything had made sense. At Regis, I had been surrounded by caring people who loved me unconditionally and believed I was capable of something special. I had been reassured that I was part of a universe constructed by a loving God for the purpose of actively loving the world and the people in it.... Continue Reading

(Marist Magazine, Winter 2017)

After graduation, Andy attended U of O and Lewis and Clark. He taught High School English for 23 years (21 of them at Marist Catholic High School) before moving into school administration. Andy is currently the Assistant Principal for Academic Affairs at Marist Catholic High School in Eugene and is married with two adult children; one is a 2014 Gonzaga grad and the other is currently a junior at Gonzaga! "Go Zags, Go Rams, Go Spartans!"​​​​​​​

Keudells Celebrate 40th Wedding Anniversary​​

Congratulations to Patti (Highberger) Keudell ('74) and Allan Keudell ('73), who celebrated their 40th wedding anniversary on February 5, 2017!​

​YOU'RE INVITED!​

TWILIGHT TRACK MEET

Friday, May 5, 2017

1:00pm

REGIS RAM OPEN

Golf Tournament

Saturday, July 29 Sponsorship Opportunities Available Contact Mike Bauer at mbauer@regishighschool.net

FREE ESTATE PLANNING SEMINAR

April 26, 2017 6:00 - 7:30pm Regis High School Library

MONSIGNOR TIMOTHY MURPHY'S 50TH ANNIVERSARY MASS AND CELEBRATION

May 21, 2017 1:00pm Central Catholic High School

​WAYS TO GIVE​

Building a Legacy of Faith & Education

Four Year Appeal for Regis High School, St. Mary Catholic School and the Regis - St. Mary Foundation

  • Goal: $3,500,000

  • PreK-12 Excellence ($2,550,000)

  • Tuition Assistance

  • Curriculum Enhancement

  • Faculty Professional Development

  • Faculty Salary Increase

  • Sustainability ($800,000)

  • Regis - St. Mary Foundation

  • Capital Projects ($150,000)

  • Regis Gym Renovation

  • St. Mary Gym Renovation

To date, we have already raised over $1,039,000. We would love to have your support to help us meet our goal. Go to blfe.regishighschool.net or contact Advancement Director Sarah Brentano Woodley ('01) at swoodley@regishighschool.net or (503)769-1705 for more information.

Watch your mail box for a pledge card and appeal letter from Regis Board of Directors Chair Randy Bentz ('81) and Regis - St. Mary Foundation President John Meldrum.


Recent Posts
Archive
Follow Us
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Facebook Basic Square
bottom of page